Shortcrust Pastry

Another baking basic is shortcrust pastry,this is used in a few of my blog posts. As of most of my basics they come from the use of my Grandma’s Be-Ro book. It is so easy to make and much cheaper than buying ready made stuff.
Ingredients:wp-1455117041342.jpg
225g plain flour
Pinch salt
50g margarine
50g Lard
2 tablespoons cold water
(25g caster sugar if you are making sweet pastry)

Method:
Mix flour and salt in a bowl and rub in the fat, mix with cold water to make a stiff dough.
Knead lightly on a floured surface then roll out as required.

On a lazy day I have tried just bunging all the ingredients in the food processor and that has worked too!

2 thoughts on “Shortcrust Pastry

  1. Looks delicious😍 nice post! If you can, check my blog out! I am a newly opened cake business and I will be sharing all my bakes and adventures on my blog – thank you 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Piece of Pie | Hungry Hyde Household

Leave a comment